VIVA NAIROBI VIVA!

APPEAL FOR THE RIGHT TO LIVE IN NAIROBI WITH DIGNITY AND JUSTICE

Thanks to the efforts and struggle of slum-dwellers, churches, habitants' associations, NGOs and

embassies with international support and solidarity, the Kenyan government has been prevented from

demolishing tens of thousands of structures (shanty-dwelings, schools, churches, community centres,

clinics, markets, etc.) as well as from forcibly evicting over 300,000 people in Kibera, Korogocho, Kahawa

Soweto, Kamae, Kware, Kamwana, Kanguku, Kandutu, City Cotton, Mutumba, Kareru, Kirigu, Muria-

Mbogo, Mutego, Njiku and others of the 199 most densely populated in Nairobi.

Proof that unity is strength!

There remains, however, the deep injustice of the economic and social apartheid which condemns 55% of

the population (approx. 2.5 million people) to living on just 5% of the urban territory.

In these areas, 80% of the inhabitants do not even own their slum-dwellings, but have to pay rent.

Moreover, these constructions are erected illegally on public land, so the government may clear and

demolish them at any moment.

The campaign continues!

We demand the recognition of the slum-dwellers' RIGHT TO LIVE IN NAIROBI WITH DIGNITY AND

JUSTICE:

We appeal to the Kenyan government and the Mayor of Nairobi:

- To block all demolitions and forced clearances;
- To observe the obligations contained in the International Covenant on Economic, Social and Cultural Rights;
- To develop new public housing and urban policies which respect the housing rights of all people

(security of tenure, participatory town-planning and urban renewal, rehabilitation).

We appeal to the European Commission, Governments and the European Investment Bank:

 \bullet To block any funding for Kenya to build infrastructure which does not respect the conditions listed

above.

We appeal to Kenya's "creditor" countries (Kenya's foreign debt amounts to over 6.5 billion dollars):

• To convert the "debt" into housing and social policies for the 2.5 million slum-dwellers, with

aid and control of all parties concerned, in particular the inhabitants themselves and the civil associations and organizations, with well-defined mechanisms to safeguard their transparency. **We appeal to UN- Habitat**

• To set up a board with representatives from the Kenyan government and the rich countries, as

well as recognized representations from the slum-dwellers, the NGOs, and international networks

in order to put our demands into effect.

TUKO PAMOJA!

(All together!)

International:

Abbé Pierre (France), Alex Zanotelli (Combonian Missionaries, Italy), Cesare Ottolini (Co-ordinator of the International Alliance of Inhabitants, International), Cristina Almazan (UCISV-Ver, Mexico), Don Alessandro Santoro (Comunità di Base delle Piagge, Florence, Italy), Giovani Impegno Missionario (Italy), Guillermo Rodriguez Curiel (Frente Continental Organizaciones Comunales, Mexico), Jean-Baptiste Eyraud (spokesman for DAL, France), Mons. Luigi Bettazzi (Bishop of Ivrea, Italy), No-Vox (International), Renzo Fior (President of Emmaus International), Sidiki Abdoul Daff (CERPAC, Senegal), Vincenzo Simoni (national secretary of Unione Inquilini, Italy), Yves Cabannes (UN Advisory Group on Forced Evictions, Ecuador).

Kenya:

African Network for the Prevention and Protection of Child Abuse and Neglect (ANPPCAN), Basic Rights Campaign, Carolina for Kibera, Intermediate Technology Development Group (ITDG), Kenya Human Rights Commission, Kituo Cha Sheria, Kutoka Network of Parishes in the Informal Settlements (Christ the King - Line Saba, Sacred Heart - Dagoretti, Christ the King - Embakasi, St. John's - Korogocho, Consolata Shrine - Westlands, St. Joseph - Kahawa West, Holy Cross - Dandora, St. Joseph and Mary - Shauri Moyo, Holy Mary Mother of God - Githurai, St. Joseph the Worker - Kangemi, Holy Trinity - Kariobangi, St. Mary's - Mukuru kwa Njenga - Our Lady of Guadalupe - Adams Arcade, St. Theresa's - Eastleigh/Mathare Valley), Maji na Ufanisi, Pamoja Trust, Shelter Forum, Concern Worldwide.

Fill the fields below and click on "send" to send your message automatically to:

- 1. His Excellency Mwai Kibaki President of the Republic of Kenya
- 2. Hon. Kiraitu Murungi, Minister for Justice and Constitutional Affairs
- 3. Hon. Raila Odinga Minister of Roads & Public Works
- 4. Hon Simeon Nyachae, M.P. Minister for Energy
- 5. Hon. John Njoroge Michuki Minister of Transportation
- 6. Hon. Musikari N. Kombo, M.P. Minister for Local Government
- 7. Hon. Amos M. Kimunya, M.P. Land and Housing Minister
- 8. Mr. Dick Wathika, Mayor of Nairobi
- 9. European Commission
- 10. European Parliament
- 11. European Union Governments
- 12. Creditor countries (Japan, Great Britain, France, Belgium, United States, Holland, Austria, Italy , Spain, Finland)
- 13. European Investment Bank